Keep on Rocking- Free Flow

Keep on rocking. Rock on with your bad self. Rock and roll. Rocking chair.

Ok. Right now, rocking chair sounds about right. My feet are tired. I need to rest. It’s been a long day. I really should call it a night but I hear the siren call of the writing bug. So, I’m still up.

I don’t know if I’ve got the writing habit yet ; I did miss some assignments. The week is winding down and this writing course is winding down too.

Time consuming, yes. Sleep depriving, yes. Still, I blog on. Trying to learn as I go.

There has been so much to learn and so many opportunities to try out writing in public. Great group of writers, readers and commenters. I do believe I will miss the press to stay involved.

I hope I can keep the momentum, although every day blogging may be a bit too much for me to manage. We will see. Time will tell. I may need to sleep on it. I may just need some sleep!

Maybe post topics will come to me in my dreams. Sudden inspiration may wake me from my slumber. The only thing to do in that case will be to write it down. I do that anyway, if I can’t get something off my mind. I grab the nearest notepad, make a quick note and save it till the morning.

Of course, morning comes along with the ringing of the alarm. I don’t know if I remember the last time i woke before the alarm sounded. I am friends with the snooze alarm, like most night owls I suppose.

I don’t expect I’ll ever really be an early bird. I do appreciate a good sunrise at the beach. It’s easier to get up early when you donT really have to be somewhere! Rise early, sit on the balcony, watch the waves roll in. Feel the morning air on your face, close your eyes and breathe it all in. That’s relaxing.

Not like the hurry, hurry, rush, rush of workday mornings. Get everything together, plan the day. Make to do lists and check, check, check things off. Feel accomplished but tired at the end of the day.

Like today. Like tonight. Mental checklists running through my mind as I write. Pulling my thoughts away from the page. I’m ready to put down the pen for the night.

Good night!

Posted on October 9, 2014, in Writing 101 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. It’s okay to miss a few, I did too ;).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. whisper2scream

    I really should call it a night but I hear the siren call of the writing bug. – That’s a great line! I can completely relate to the whole of your piece – very well put together for a free-write, by the way. If you can discipline yourself, you should stick with the habit beyond the course (I’m talking to myself as well).

    Like

Leave a Reply

Collect Life

A collection of life, inspiration and joy

A Walk in the Garden

"How quickly comes the sun when first it sets its mind to rise." - - j. s. v.

Susi Lovell

short story writer

Thoughts Of An E'ville Woman

The secret to having it all is believing that you do!

It's a long story ...

a light-hearted look at life by Tresha Barger

A Sawyer's Daughter

The Life & Times of a Sawmill Man's Eldest Child

Norm 2.0

Photography, fiction, opinions and reviews, and whatever else I feel like posting

The Eye of a Thieving Magpie

My view of this wonderful and crazy life - as I travel and explore.

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

Backyard Bird Lady

Tips on attracting birds to your yard

mycreatorscreation

Spiritually and Emotionally Connected

citysonnet.wordpress.com/

photography, poetry

Minute Meetings with God

Meeting God Personally through his word

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

Life is for Living Every Day

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

My Life Lived Full

If you aren't living on the edge, you're taking up too much space

Park Preview

A guide to Seattle area parks for the non-robust, lazy birders, and photographers.

Jibber Jabber with Sue

Everyday Thoughts and Musings

Oh, the Places We See . . .

Honey, grab the GPS.

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Fun, Fitness & Photography

Journeys with Johnbo

Reflections on places traveled and photos taken.

Bun Karyudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

