A Straight Circuitous Path-Be on Your Way

The Way

The Way

My take on The Daily Prompt-Circuitous Paths

A stranger knocked on the door. “I need to find my way,” he said.

“Where are you trying to go?” I responded.

“Give me directions to the nearest gas station. I want to fill my car and keep driving until I get somewhere better.”

“Are you almost out of gas now?” I asked.

The stranger sighed and looked down at his feet. “Yes, m’am. I’m almost empty. It has been a long journey and I’m far from home. I need to be refueled.”

The man looked up. I saw a single tear roll down his cheek, leaving a trail of moist sorrow. He reached up to wipe the drop from his skin. “I’m sorry, m’am. The roads I have traveled have been rough and steep. I have taken one wrong turn after another. I don’t even know if I am leaving or returning home anymore. I’m lost. Give me directions.”

“I can help you. Wait here,” I said. I turned and walked toward the back room. “I’m getting something to write on!” I called out. Out of view, I leaned against the wall. Deep breath in, slow breath out. Deep breath in, slow breath out. I was ready. I opened a drawer, searching for just the right notepad. I wrote detailed directions to the filling station on the specialty notepad, right under the pre-printed message.

Returning to the door, I handed the man the paper. “I hope these directions are clear.”

A slow smile grew on the man’s face as he scanned the writing on the page. “Thank you for your kindness,” he said. “I see that the gas station is not very far from here. I see the path. I’ll be on my way.”

I watched as he got into his car and drove toward the crossroads. I bounded to the kitchen. Before returning the notepad to the drawer, I read the stamped message out loud.

“Proverbs 3:5-6, I read. “Trust in The Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths.”

Posted on October 18, 2014, in Daily prompt, God, Jesus, Holy Spirit and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love this! Brought tears to my eyes and a catch in my throat at the end as I read it to my husband.

    Like

  2. Loved this! How appropriate was that notepad!

    Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Hi everyone. Here is my… | Writers' hub

Leave a Reply

Collect Life

A collection of life, inspiration and joy

A Walk in the Garden

"How quickly comes the sun when first it sets its mind to rise." - - j. s. v.

Susi Lovell

short story writer

Thoughts Of An E'ville Woman

The secret to having it all is believing that you do!

It's a long story ...

a light-hearted look at life by Tresha Barger

A Sawyer's Daughter

The Life & Times of a Sawmill Man's Eldest Child

Norm 2.0

Photography, fiction, opinions and reviews, and whatever else I feel like posting

The Eye of a Thieving Magpie

My view of this wonderful and crazy life - as I travel and explore.

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

Backyard Bird Lady

Tips on attracting birds to your yard

mycreatorscreation

Spiritually and Emotionally Connected

citysonnet.wordpress.com/

photography, poetry

Minute Meetings with God

Meeting God Personally through his word

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

Life is for Living Every Day

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

My Life Lived Full

If you aren't living on the edge, you're taking up too much space

Park Preview

A guide to Seattle area parks for the non-robust, lazy birders, and photographers.

Jibber Jabber with Sue

Everyday Thoughts and Musings

Oh, the Places We See . . .

Honey, grab the GPS.

Journeys with Johnbo

Reflections on places traveled and photos taken.

Bun Karyudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

