Bananas By The Bunch

image

I don’t remember the last time I actually weighed bananas before buying them. I usually just grab a bunch that looks ripe and toss them in my shopping basket.

It was different when I was a kid. My mom was a smart shopper. She would weigh store produce and carefully estimate the cost. She always paid in cash with a family grocery budget to keep. This was before calculators and I remember that we had a red clicker we could use to keep track of the costs as we went through the aisles, although my mom still did the math in her head!

Banana is one of the color challenges this week for JNW’s Color Your World Photo Challenge. The color match may have been closer if these bananas were more ripe.

And, since this photo shows something marked by its weight, I will submit it as my second entry (see my first entry here- Bubbles, Of Course) for the daily post weekly photo challenge:
Weight(less)

Posted on January 10, 2016, in Nostalgia, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Lovely picture and beautiful memory (:
    And, to tell you a truth my mom also do maths in her head

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great picture – great idea! Love it!

    Like

  3. Bananas are sold in many ways here in the UK. You can buy a bunch of however many you wish by weight, or you can buy a bag (usually 7) for a set price, or you can get a bag of ‘bananas for kids’ (read small) for about £1, or singly at 15 pence each or a bag of three for 39p. We go for a bunch of five (sometimes referred to as a fist) which sets us back around seventy pence. These days if I hear the word banana, I can’t help but think of The Minions!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This pic is great for both challenges! When we were first married, I did the same thing your mom did. I’m glad I don’t have to add up the bill as I shop anymore!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Words Like Honey

add sweetness to my soul

Zimmerbitch

age is just a (biggish) number) NUMBER

Heaven's Sunshine

Capturing the beauty of God's creation through the lens of a camera

52 Weeks Photography Group

A year in images, one theme at a time

Collect Life

A collection of life, inspiration and joy

A Walk in the Garden

"How quickly comes the sun when first it sets its mind to rise." - - j. s. v.

Susi Lovell

short story writer

Thoughts Of An E'ville Woman

The secret to having it all is believing that you do!

It's a long story ...

a light-hearted look at life by Tresha Barger

A Sawyer's Daughter

The Life & Times of a Sawmill Man's Eldest Child

Norm 2.0

Photography, fiction, humor, opinions, and whatever else I feel like posting

The Eye of a Thieving Magpie

My view of this wonderful and crazy life - as I travel and explore.

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

Backyard Bird Lady

Tips on attracting birds to your yard

mycreatorscreation

Spiritually and Emotionally Connected

citysonnet.wordpress.com/

photography, poetry

Minute Meetings with God

Meeting God Personally through his word

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

Life is for Living Every Day

Sharing this fact: Faith + Family + Friendship + Love + Laughter = Life

My Life Lived Full

If you aren't living on the edge, you're taking up too much space

Park Preview

A guide to Seattle area parks for the non-robust, lazy birders, and photographers.

Jibber Jabber with Sue

Everyday Thoughts and Musings

Oh, the Places We See . . .

Honey, grab the GPS.

