Resilient Tabby

Look!

Look!

Look at my sweet Stripey’s eyes!

Not too long ago, I noticed that my cat didn’t seem to be able to see the way he usually did. I wondered if he had suddenly lost his sight because of a kitty stroke. I hoped it would get better, but soon he couldn’t see at all and I called his vet.

Poor little Stripey was resilient. He just walked slowly and close to the walls and found his way around my house. He could find his food, water and litter box from memory. I made sure not to move anything around so as not to confuse him. It was hard to guide him because, at 18 years old, Stripey’s hearing was already diminished. If I pounded on the floor and called his name, he would sometimes turn toward the vibration. I tried not to startle him, but still tried to comfort him by sitting near. He would sit close and even sit on my lap. The saddest thing was that he couldn’t look at me! I really missed the eye contact. His pupils stayed dark and large. My heart was breaking for him, but he just carried on and adapted.

By the time of Stripey’s vet appointment, I had been already been trying to find answers by googling his symptoms. Turns out that a cat can go blind from detached retinas if his blood pressure is too high. I read that there was a possibility of restored vision if blood pressure medication was started soon enough.

The mobile vet confirmed that my cat’s blood pressure was too high. He was started on blood pressure medicine. But, I wondered, was it in time? Another week later, he still couldn’t see, and while his blood pressure was better, it was still too high. So, the vet increased his medicine dosage, which did improve his vital measurements. I was cautiously hopeful.

I prayed and prayed for a miracle. I thought he seemed to be seeing a little, but wondered if it was my imagination. I kept praying. I gave him his medicine every day by applying a compounded cream on the tip of his inner ear. I prayed that with lowered blood pressure, the fluid behind his eyes would go away so that his retinas could reattach. I worried that it was too late. I prayed some more.

One day, I was holding Stripey on my lap and I noticed his eyes. The pupils were constricting in the light! I excitedly took this picture to document the moment I knew he could see light.

I started to notice that Stripey wasn’t hugging the walls when he walked through my rooms. He moved a little faster. And, one day, he looked up into my eyes and I knew he saw me! My prayers were answered! I was so happy! After five weeks, my beloved Stripey could see again.

So, keep this in mind, especially if your cat has a sudden change in vision, and make sure to see your vet. I had no idea that a cat could have high blood pressure and need blood pressure medicine. Did you?

*posted for the daily post weekly photo challenge: resilient

Posted on December 31, 2016, in Daily life, Observations, Photography, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. So glad to hear such good news. Our pets can’t tell us when something is wrong and we can only go by a change in behaviour, eating or toiletry habits. Happy New Year to you and yours. 🙂

    Like

  2. I am so happy for the happy ending, Terri. My little Teemu has having compounding ear cream twice daily for several years but his was for his seizures. When I had him in the hospital for a whole ‘nother incident, and brought them his ear meds, the tech said to me, “You are not using your finger to apply this, are you?” Why yes, I was, actually–for the past several years. She cringed. Then it dawned on me–there was always a rubber finger tip in with the medicine and I was supposed to use it! Never dawned on me…….I tell you this just in case you have a little rubber finger with Stripey’s meds and no one tells you you are to use the darn thing!

    Like

    • I had already been giving Stripey thyroid medicine on his ears so I knew about the glove! Thanks for the warning though! I do appreciate you looking out for me! I buy boxes of the non latex gloves and pull the individual fingertips off to use one with the medicine each time and then throw it away. I am so glad to have the cream option instead of a pill, aren’t you? My dog takes medicine for his seizures but he thinks the pills (in pill pockets) are a treat. I am sorry your Teemu has had seizures-it’s hard to see! Blessings to you all! Happy New Year!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Collect Life

A collection of life, inspiration and joy

A Walk in the Garden

"How quickly comes the sun when first it sets its mind to rise." - - j. s. v.

Susi Lovell

short story writer

Thoughts Of An E'ville Woman

The secret to having it all is believing that you do!

It's a long story ...

a light-hearted look at life by Tresha Barger

A Sawyer's Daughter

The Life & Times of a Sawmill Man's Eldest Child

Norm 2.0

Photography, fiction, opinions and reviews, and whatever else I feel like posting

The Eye of a Thieving Magpie

My view of this wonderful and crazy life - as I travel and explore.

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

Backyard Bird Lady

Tips on attracting birds to your yard

mycreatorscreation

Spiritually and Emotionally Connected

citysonnet.wordpress.com/

photography, poetry

Minute Meetings with God

Meeting God Personally through his word

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

Life is for Living Every Day

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Friendship; Love, Laughter, Life

My Life Lived Full

If you aren't living on the edge, you're taking up too much space

Park Preview

A guide to Seattle area parks for the non-robust, lazy birders, and photographers.

Jibber Jabber with Sue

Everyday Thoughts and Musings

Oh, the Places We See . . .

Honey, grab the GPS.

Second Wind Leisure Perspectives

Fun, Fitness & Photography

Journeys with Johnbo

Reflections on places traveled and photos taken.

Bun Karyudo

Lovingly Hand-Crafted Humor Blog

